Articles are the responsibility of the Native American Studies department, but do not necessarily reflect the opinion, attitudes or philosophy of the department or other publications produced by this organization.

The Dawn of Nations Today Student Reporters and Staff
Shawn Abeita, Laguna Pueblo, Santo Domingo Pueblo
Winoka Begay, Diné
Tavish Brown, Navajo
Paul Kasero, Laguna Pueblo
Nate Lujan, Isleta Pueblo
Joab Maestas, Jicarilla Apache
Ingrid Mitchell, Acoma Pueblo
Shynoke Ortiz, Diné
Bernita Woody, Navajo

Special Contributor
Daryl Candelaria, San Felipe Pueblo

Senior Managing Editor & Instructor
Mary K. Bowannie, Zuni Pueblo/Cochiti Pueblo
Native American Studies, University of New Mexico

Professional Mentors
Jes Abeita, Freelance Journalist, Isleta Pueblo
Sunnie Redhouse, Navajo Times, Diné
Daisy Morgan, Freelance Photographer, Irish/Scottish/Welsh
Steven Robert Allen, Common Cause New Mexico
Edward Calabaza, Calabaza Consultants, Isleta Pueblo/Santo Domingo
Bryan Pollard, Cherokee, the Cherokee Phoenix

Special thanks to
Native American Journalists Association
Navajo Times
Dr. Dan Littlefield, Sequoyah Research Center
Institute for Pueblo Indian Studies, Indian Pueblo Cultural Center
Institute for American Indian Research

Graphic Designer
John Paul Rangel (Apache/Navajo/Mestizo)
Asphalt Apache Design

No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form
without the written consent of the publisher.

Copyright © 2009 Dawn of Nations Today, Native American Studies, UNM


Dawn of Nations Today Volumn 4; Issue 1; May 2009, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M.

Dawn of Nations Today is a special edition published by the Native American Studies Department, University College, University of New Mexico
Mesa Vista Hall 3080, MSC 06 3740, 1 University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M. 87131-0001
Telephone: 505.277-9271   |   Email: dawnofnationstoday@gmail.com